(This is a response to our first sound-off topic, posted here.)

I can’t that I remember my first encounter with the Internet. I grew up around computers. My father was and still is a tinkerer: an engineer by trade but a more apt description would probably be someone who enjoys taking apart and putting things back together. He caught on to computers early in the late 70s and has been assembling his own ever since.

As a result, for as long as I can remember, there have always been computers in our house. They weren’t always functional, but they were always around. And for as long as I can remember they had internet.

I do, however, remember using dial up well. I remember watching pages download inch-by-inch and having to ratio Internet minutes at the end of the month. At that time, the internet was a finite resource. I didn’t exactly know how it worked (still really don’t), I just knew that you couldn’t use too much of it.

This will be my last entry stateside. Spoiled after years of broadband, I will once again have to readjust to rationing Internet while abroad: no gratuitous facebooking, no random googling and no wiki races.

It’s going to be fantastic.

Now for two days of travel across ten and a half timezones.

