For my entire life, I’d been under the impression that broccoli appeared on my plate magically. Due to some reason born from a profound ignorance of all things Earth inherent to my suburban East Coast upbringing, I’d never considered it in its natural state.

 

My naïve worldview was destroyed when my host father came home with real, fresh-from-the-ground broccoli plants. They blew my mind. They had leaves! Just like everything else! I’m not sure I can believe that these bizarre, extraterrestrial plants actually grow in cultivated fields just like any other veggie my mother had to force down my throat as a child. However, I do have a promise to go out to the family’s fields within the next few weeks to confirm what I’ve just seen. Until then, I’ll be holding on to my conspiracy theories.

 

Here’s a look at the goods:

 

